More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

It is becoming increasingly more common to see people who migrate to cities for prospects of having better lives. While living in urban ureas can be challenging in terms of several aspects, various measures can be taken by governments to enhance citizens’ quality of life.

There could be some difficulties pertaining to living in cities. Firstly, since the overall rate of noise and air pollutions are relatively high in cities, especially enormous cities like Tehran, these unpleasant inevitable phenomenons of cities can be extremely annoying for citizens, and cause some damages to their overall well-being. Secondly, finding affordable residential places in cities can be considered a pressing problem because rent costs are often outrageous . This problem can be even worse for newcomers from rural areas who do not have a large amount of saving. Finally, people who want to live in cities will have to deal with being continuously exposed to a stressful life style in which there will not be enough time for having fun since they have to work hard to remain successful in the competitive job market and make enough money to meet their basic survival needs, including housing, food, and health care.

Although living in cities will not be trouble free, governments can take some steps to mitigate the potential challenges of living in urban areas and make people’s quality of life better. First of all, governments can allocate a reasonable proportion of budget to develop public transportation system in their region, and encourage citizens to use them rather than their own car. As a result, the issues like traffic jams, air pollution and noise pollution may experience be reduced and living in cities can become more peaceful than it used to be. Furthermore, governments can invest a large amount of money in affordable homes construction projects in urban areas which allows people solve their housing problems. Eventually, it would be a wise action if local authorities dedicate funds to subsidize food market and healthcare systems in order to prevent starvation, and to reduce mortality and morbidity rates among citizens.

In conclusion, although there are a number of hardships related to living in cities, governments can tackle these problems and make urban lifer better by making appropriate financial investments in improvement of different facilities.