Most employers nowadays put increasing emphasis on social skills. Some people believe that social skills are important in addition to good qualification for job success. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, social skills are as crucial as qualifications to one’s success in a job. I completely agree with this view because of their active role in improving individuals’ chances, and having good social skills could boost productivity.

First and foremost, having social skills could have a positive impact on people’s chances. When someone has plenty of soft skills, such as good communication skills. They might have ended up having better opportunities in their careers. This is because of their ability to present themselves, and to show their abilities to work smoothly within an organization or a big company. As a result, their lives will be changed, and even their financial status could be in a better situation, just due to the social skills that they have. For example, a Sudanese blogger shared a post on Facebook, highlighting his journey from junior marketing at a small company to leading the marketing team at MTN, which is the biggest telecom company in Sudan. He mentioned that there was a single skill that took him to this position, which is communicating effectively with his clients.

Moreover, another point to consider is that social skills could promote productivity in certain ways. When a company has a team who are socially skilled, their productivity will be increased, due to the flexibility that will be found, and how everything could flow smoothly within the team. As a consequence, the company’s income will flourish, because they hired socially intelligent employees to their company. For instance, in 2018, a survey conducted on a Saudi Arabian IT company, the result showed that the company’s productivity increased by 20% from 2014 after they implemented a new hiring requirement, which firmly focuses on the candidates’ social skills.

In conclusion, although many people could argue that social skills are not important, I believe that social skills are crucial due to their role in improving opportunities and the possibility of promoting overall performance at work.