Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is often argued that establishment of international organizations is increasing over time in developing nations. While, the majority of people support this trend due to its certain merits, a few of individuals emphasize its drawbacks. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the same, leading to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, one of the most significant advantages is the positive impact on the employment rates of the host country. That is to say, as these companies require a specific amount of staff to run effectively, the generate numerous lucrative job opportunities for that countries’ citizens. Furthermore, they are greatly beneficial for the economic growth of these under growing nations. For instance, in the last decade, as substantial amount of multinational companies have opened up in India, which have been contributing to the economic growth of the nation by paying taxes to the government on consumption of the certain resources over there.

On the otherhand, this phenomenon also has some major disadvantages. Firstly, it can lead to the negative impacts on the culture of the host nations. In other words, these international organisations higher candidates not only from the host country but also from the different regions all over the world, which usually result in excessive foreign influence in the nation. This, such influence sometimes can lead to the cultural imposition on the local population, leading to a concerning discrimination in the cultural beliefs over there. Secondly, it can also result in pitfalls for the local businesses. According to a survey report, for example, almost 15% of the local businesses has closed in India, in the last five years due to the heightened competition in the marketplaces, after the involvement of the international companies.

To conclude, despite of having some drawbacks of international organisations increment in undergrowing nations, such as negative impact on their culture and regional businesses, the benefits including increase in employment and economy growth, outweigh the negatives.