New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The advent of new technologies has undeniably transformed the way young people spend their leisure time. I personally believe that the drawbacks of this development outweigh the benefits for some sound reasons.

To begin with, there are a number of advantages to making use of cutting-edge technologies, such as mobile phones, tablets, and laptops. First and foremost, in today’s rapidly evolving world, children are really into using state-of-the-art technologies in order to spend their quality time effectively in their free time, interact with their peers, and improve digital literacy in education. For example, according to research, 40 percent of children aged 13 and above in the USA have portable devices, which enable them to foster communication skills by keeping in touch with their peers. In addition to this, these tools are primary contributors to increasing productivity, knowledge, electronic-based literacy, and expertise related to technologies.

Having said that, there are others who think that modern tools, for instance computers, gadgets, and TV, have adversely affected children in terms of emotional well-being and cognitive development. As their brains are in developmental stages at the age of 10-15, it can lead to health problems, such as eye strains and obesity, as a result of spending most of their time in front of screens or touching screens. For example, children aged 12 and younger in Brooklyn, New York, are suffering from getting overweight due to a sedentary lifestyle as a consequence of watching movies and sitcoms in front of the TV, which can lead to compounding the development of the brain system when they get older in the long run. Therefore, it is not advisable to use contemporary gadgets to avoid health-related issues.

In conclusion, although modern devices have significant positive effects on children, facilitating productivity and global connectivity with their friends, parents, and casual acquaintances, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages for a number of causes mentioned above.