Newspapers have influence on people's ideas and opinions. What are the reasons? Is it negative or positive development?

Nowadays, individual’s ideas and views are mainly affected by newspapers. While this is attributed to well-known journalists and engaging content, this is an unfavorable change overall.

There are various reasons why newspapers are having enormous influence on people’s ideas. Firstly, its due to famous bloggers or journalists, since people trust more on these individuals. Many of them are seen as a role-model by their viewers. The contents they create can help people to form their opinion, because newspapers not always provide precise information, instead its mainly about author’s opinion. For example, if they describe any story positively, readers will form positive attitudes toward the story, and same as a negative explanation. Moreover, contents also play a crucial role, when they are interesting many people stay motivated to read the story. Therefore, they gain more knowledge which makes easier to make decisions.

In my opinion, this shift brings about several problems. One of them is people may lose critical-thinking ability, since newspaper’s content usually about journalist’s opinions. When they explain news or stories negatively, even if they are good and positive, people may consider the story as a negative. Instead of thinking on their own and making fair judgement. Another issue is that, in newspapers authors emotions also can be easily recognized, which can cause panic among people. For instance, they make the titles exaggerated, like it is just crisis, and they write “Crisis is growing, which can affect the businesses”.

In conclusion, prominent personalities and interesting contents are the main causes. This trend brings numerous issues, including writer’s emotions and opinions.