Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is important for offices to carefully consider which type of design they should implement. While some believe it is better to work in open-space designs, others feel that traditional offices with separate rooms offer more advantages. This essay will explain why I believe the drawbacks of open-space office designs are outweighed by their benefits when compared to separate room layout.

Considering firstly the negatives of open-space offices, an important one is that this kind of offices tends to be less private. The vast majority of open-space workplaces are only divided by thin panels which makes it difficult for employees to focus on their work, avoid the sounds of conversations, phone calls, and movements in the office. In addition, there can be another downside of this design that some workers can be dissatisfied by not having their personal space.

As working in an environment that feels more comfortable boosts morale and motivation, that is every office owner’s high priority.

However, the main advantages of working in open-space are low cost efficiency and improved collaboration and communication. With regards to the former, offices typically cost a lot of money to build and maintain and to make it cheaper, open-space is highly recommended for saving on space in the office and construction costs. As for the latter, this type of office provides clear internal discussions and easy exchange of ideas which increases productivity and creativity in companies.

In conclusion, I think that the advantages of costing less finance and better teamwork outweighs the disadvantages of lack of privacy and reduced job satisfaction.