Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a growing number with health issues are opting for alternative medicines and treatments rather than consulting with conventional doctors. In my opinion, negative outcomes can outweigh a few positive aspects from doing this action.

Primarily, people tend to use their general knowledge to cure their illness with medical treatments that aren’t part of standard medical care, such as herbal remedies. Alternative medicines are prevalent for several reasons, such as cost-effectiveness and people’s desire for natural treatments. While this can be cheaper and sometime more efficient than traditional way of consulting with doctors, it can also be dangerous, resulting side effects and making current illness get worse due to lack of scientific evidence to prove their efficacy. Unlike conventional doctors who rely on tested treatments, alternative options may delay proper diagnosis or effective treatment, worsening the patient’s current condition.

On the other hand, seeing medical experts can benefit patients in numerous ways. Firstly, patients can know in details of what illness they’ve been through, and consequently what activites to start or stop to prevent severe conditions in advance. Surprisingly, recent research studies state that people feel more satisfied and protected from consulting with doctors as they perceive holistic and advice, making them emotionally safe. For example, I feel relieved when I get medical guidance from doctors so that I know what I have to take care for, rather than taking self-decisive medicines at home.

To sum up, although alternative medicines can be cheaper, conventional way offer many benefits for holistic care, fewer side effects, and emotional protection. Thus, I believe that alternative medicnes pose more risks than benefits overall.