Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions diverge on whether animal experiments should be prohibited as they are harmful to animals or elevating these kinds of activities to provide advantages to human kind is better. This essay will discuss both viewpoints before showing some possible reasons to support the former statement.

It is understandable why some people are of the opinion that testing on animals is beneficial. First of all, animals can be used to develop new medicines. In fact, scientists and researchers often depend on animals such as rats, or hamsters to investigate some part of their bodies to find if there is any nutrient or any essential substance in them. After that, they can utilize their final results to create new treatments, which can be useful for human’s health. Moreover, when it comes to checking the safety for one product, instead of trying it on humans, experimentalists can do this on animals so that people can still be safe.

However, this tendency causes a lot of controversy as several people find this act cruel and immoral because it can kill lots of animal’s lives, which can be really detrimental to the life of people as well. It is undeniable that animals play a crucial role in balancing the diversity of the ecosystem and the environment; therefore, if many experiments are still conducted, a number of animals can be at risk of extinction. Consequently, the earth is facing an unbalanced ecosystem, and the span of human longevity can be mitigated. In my opinion, scientists and doctors need to find alternative ways to launch experiments, instead of relying on animals. Otherwise, it is paramount for them to protect the lives of animals after being tested.

In conclusion, despite some benefits provided to humanity such as having modern medicines or checking the safety, I still believe that the act of experimenting on animals can do more harm than good as it can negatively impact our ecosystem and put lots of species in jeopardy.