Nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than work for a company or organisation. Do the advantages of being self-employed outweigh the disadvantages.

In many parts of the world, a lot of people have their personal business and are essentially self-employed. On the other hand, the rest work under in a company headed by other groups of people. Some argue that self-employment comes with a lot of risk and therefore should be avoided, while the others believe that it allows and individual to be creative and explore various paths in the business field. In my opinion, there are more advantages than disadvantages to having your own independent working approach.

Working in one’s own start-up lets an individual have a creative outlook on their business as it opens up different opportunities that one may not be able to utilise when working under an authority. In this set-up, one can work at their own pace. Not only does it make working comfortable but it also allows every worker to achieve their maximum potential. Working from home is made possible by this system as one is not required to commute to their work place on a daily basis, thus, increasing efficient and productive hours. For instance, a majority of the working population working for their self-established startups earn more as they can deduct business expenses from their taxes

Among the drawbacks, the responsibility that comes with an independent business may weigh down a worker’s mental health. Overseeing all the proceedings of an organisation can be a difficult position for an individual to be in as it can get stressful and complex. Working hours may not be fixed as an employee who is mostly concerned with finishing the task may end up working for longer durations. Self-employment also comes with a lot of investment as building a concept from scratch requires a lot of resources whose expense is expected to be met by the founder itself. However, all these shortcomings can be negated once a company is well-established and is doing well in the market. For instance, In India, a lot of engineers with their own companies sell 3-D printed Automobile and earn hefty amounts by it.

In conclusion, even though self-employment comes with its own risk, this essay believes that the results that come with it can negate the same and make it profitable in the long run.