Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimise the bad effects?

In the age of digitalization the majority of children have open access to computer games, which leads to the ambiguous effects. Games provide the young generation with an opportunity to make new acquaintances, but also a severe emotional addiction. This essay will examine positive and negative effects of computer games and suggest possible actions to mitigate the harmful impact.

One of the primary benefits of playing digital games is making new companions. In other words, during the process of integrating in the gaming community, child successfully socializes. For instance, their personality can be formed through communicating, discussing and debating on gaming topics, gaining unique experience.

On the other hand, significant prioritizing of digital entertainment can lead to a serious gaming addiction. The point is that by excluding other ways of gaining experience except playing, a person consumes an excessive amount of short-term dopamine. Furthermore, it can lead to the serious dependence on computers, causing the outline of aggressive and rough behaviour as a part of the human personality.

Meanwhile, prioritizing the gaming process may arise from the lack of entertainment options. As socialization is one of the primary human needs, unique experience needs to be gained in terms of successful character formation. Consequently, a wider range of gaming substitutes should be provided. This issue can be tackled by the government offering school trips for the younger generation, raising the importance of reading literature and introducing communities as “Dvizhenie Pervih” in Russia.

In conclusion, computer games play a major role in teenager’s socialization, however may negatively affect the formation of human traits and values. A further way to combat gaming addiction is to integrate social movements of youth and widen the range of entertainment options.