Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimise the bad effects?

Currently, computer use has increased significantly between people, also the number of children playing videogames has grown notably. One of the most concerning impacts of this is the emergence of mental health problems and this should be resolved by educational measures from the parents, school and authorities.

Infants playing videogames for a long time each day could develop many consequences, but the most concerning for all people is health issues, specifically mentally illness. There is nodoubt that screen exposure affects the way to connect with real life, it reduces socialinteraction and increases the chance of being isolated causing depression, social panicepisodes and anxiety. Recent research concluded that the younger generation prefers tostay at home with their electronic devices rather than go to social events or school, becausethey do not know how to socialise feeling extreme anxiety. Measures must be taken becauseour children’s lives are not as healthy and happy as they should be.

It is extremely necessary that action is taken to combat this main issue. Governments shouldensure that educational programs about online games are provided to the community tocreate major knowledge about consequences of using these games for extremely hours. Schools also have a part to play, for example, teachers need to closely control students’ useof devices in classes. Finally, parents probably have the major responsibility in their toddlerscontrolling the kind of games played and how many hours in total daily of screen the kids consume. For example, most technology products have specific settings where parents canprogram it to turn off after a certain amount of use time.

To conclude, the use of computers and specifically video games in children has greatly grown, but this can develop serious mental health problems. However, with the right control from parents and society this negative effect could be reduced and make playing gamessafe for our offspring.