Nowadays, many students choose to study in another country to learn its language. What are the benefits of this trend? What are some other ways to improve their foreign language learning?

In recent years, studying a new language by moving to its native country has been growing in popularity. Students can gain numerous potential advantages by learning in this way, yet there are also several other methods to study a new language without living in its area.

Studying a language during the period of living with native users of the language could bring about various advantages to students. One compelling benefit is that learners could immerse themselves in the language every day. Specifically, when students are surrounded by people speaking a foreign language as their mother tongue, they can enhance their language skills intensively, especially speaking and listening, by talking and interacting with real people in several daily situations instead of practicing with audio lessons or tools. Another advantage to consider is that it’s beneficial to your resume when applying to a global working environment. This is due to the fact that global organizations always prioritize candidates who excel in verbal and written communication ability in foreign languages such as English. Therefore, if students have lived and used a foreign language daily in its country for years, they will make a significant impression on employers.

Students can also enhance their foreign language learning by other measures which don’t cost a fortune like moving to another country. A highly accessible way is to take part in language clubs in your area. For example, in Ho Chi Minh City, there are several English-speaking clubs which are held at no cost by some foreigners to help students improve their language skills. Another helpful way is taking some online courses organized by native teachers. In fact, these courses might provide interaction and practice with foreigners through an online learning platform or meeting. Despite the lack of face-to-face interaction, online courses are usually designed for learners at many levels, from beginner to proficient, thereby it would be better for students who haven’t been able to talk with native speakers yet.

In conclusion, learning a foreign language in its country might provide learners with the chance to immerse themselves into the language every day and potential opportunities to work in a global environment. Meanwhile, participating in a language club to practice with friends frequently or taking some online courses from native teachers also have numerous positive impacts on learners.