Nowadays, more and more children are using technological devices such as smart phones. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, the question of whether there has been a noticeable rise in the number of children using electronic devices is a positive or negative development is a controversial discussion. While this trend is driven by several factors, I believe that phenomenon is creating detrimental health outcomes for children.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that an increasing number of children using technological devices does not bring any benefits. One of the main reasons for the high number of smartphone youngsters is the increasing importance of virtual activities in education. In today’s world, there are many applications or programs in electronic devices that are very effective for students, which is for development and research purposes. For instance, we can mention Gemini, which helps children deal with programming difficulties and research how to code a game. In addition, students are required to research and submit assignments online, and technological devices are the most accessible and convenient tool to accomplish these tasks. This trend was exacerbated by the Covid-19 Pandemic, when parents and children always used their telephones for teamwork and remote learning.

On the other hand, children using electronic devices in today’s world also bring many drawbacks. Their prolonged use can cause negative effects on children’s health. Their gloomy impacts on children’s health can harm two sides: broadened time on electronic equipment can harm the children’s eyesight by exposing them to blue light and attacking the eyes, leading to a sedentary lifestyle. Moreover, when children use telephones or tablets for a long time, they will lose their independent logical thinking. For instance, in this day and age, we have an app called Chat GPT, which acts as a place for children to get answers when they encounter difficulties. Despite knowing that researching is good, children rely on this app and don’t think about solutions to deal with it.

To summarize, while high numbers of children use electronic devices for practical reasons, I believe that this trend will give several drawbacks and a few positive effects on them.