Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same jobs. What problems this causes? What are solutions?

In this day and age, the phenomenon of old employees competing for familiar positions with their young counterparts has significantly risen in many nations. In this essay, I would explain the reasons behind this tendency before suggesting some effective solutions.

There are some major causes that explain why more and more older invididuals who need employment compete with younger people for the same occupations. First, owing to the fast-paced advancement of technology, the labor-costs can be reduced while ensuring the productivity and the quality of products. As a result, the salaries for many positions of human employees might be declined or some of these positions might also be replaced by robust technologies, leading to the whirlwind wave of old people seeking the same jobs as their young counterparts. Second, as the adverse effects of the Covid-19 pandemic on the global economy, many nations around the world are tackled with severe economic recessions, translating into several business collapses or finance-related burdens for administrations. In order to deal with layoffs and jobless situations, people are urged to work for several jobs simultaneously, therefore, they have to compete with the youth for the same occupations. Hence, many old individuals are desperate to seek a position, and this tendency does not show any sign of stopping.

Despite the severity of this development, organising specialised courses along with governmental intervention could effectively mitigate it. There should be some expertised courses taken by businesses and organisations in order to equip individuals with profound insights in their regimes and how to leverage technologies to embrace their own capabilities. As a result, old individuals can be eligible to compete in the race with not only the youth but also the evolving technology. Along with the hold of informative courses, the government should tackle the impacts of Covid-19 pandemic on the national economy by enforcing finance-related policies such as fiscal policy and monetary policy. Such policies are not only sufficient to enhance the economic situation by boosting purchasing power, motivating manufacturing, but also paving the way for individuals to seek varied positions or even start up their own businesses.

In conclusion, many people are running in the race for employment with the younger generations due to the advancement of technology and the severe economy-related impacts of the Covid-19 pandemic have brought about. Yet, businesses and the government can mitigate this by dispensing useful courses and implementing appropriate financial policies for individuals to find employment opportunities in the unpredictable job markets.