Nowadays, some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works by using the computer. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a circulating theory, that many of the things we are accustomed to, are going to disappear as the era of Internet entertainment and education breaks through. Museums and exhibitions are often given as an example that may be gone soonest. I, certainly, support this position and in the essay I will elaborate on why.

Let me start with the advantages of contemporary art galleries and the only way, I could possibly name, how the visitors can benefit from them. Only professional critics or artists could take advantage of attending such events. It is a place where they gather to find one another, while sipping wine and discussing gossip. Although, the family museums such as «The museum of chocolate», which is close to my home, serve to entertain families with kids, are not in danger, but it is more about amusement, not real art.

However, ordinary people, who occasionally buy a museum ticket do it not for the admiration they feel, or the breath taking experiences of particularly controversial artworks. The majority of them, in my opinion, just want to socialize and share the cultural agenda, so they would know what will be casually discussed at the party next night. Not to mention, the most famous masterpieces are out of reach even now, they are shielded with bulletproof glass, or have «do not cross the line» signs all over.

In conclusion, yes, I agree that festivals and art galas are getting less popular. Modern technologies and 3D-graphic devices are becoming more affordable every day and I have already seen families wearing special devices on, maybe not so portable yet. The kids were pointing their fingers to nowhere while, actually, they were being on a excursion around virtual Louvre.