Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, technological devices such as surveillance cameras or mobile phones are being utilized to monitor activities whether people are aware of that or not. In my opinion, I see that the disadvantages of this trend outweighs the advantages. This essay will delve into both the downsides and upsides.

Firstly, this usage of technological devices has violated many people’s privacy without them even knowing it. This is considerably dangerous, considering if not regulated correctly, can lead to dangerous information leaks. By tracking and retaining information holds cybersecurity risks, especially when the website’s security is insecure. For instance, the widely used social media platform Facebook is infamous for collecting personal data and getting leaked, which has happend numerous times. Moreover, for one time in 2021, information of 530 million Facebook users, including their profile names, Facebook ID numbers, email addresses, and phone numbers circulated publicly.

On the other hand, overseeing the citizen’s activities helps maintaining safety by detecting criminal activities. By doing so, governments can detect any criminal activities before it can be initialized. For example, the London Nail Bomber incident in 1999 is a terrorist act which can bring danger to many innocent lives. However, with surveillance footage, the police has managed to find the terrorists.