Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, technology has been advanced in ways that many people became monitored, including what are they doing and talking. For instance, the cellphone tracking is a way to listen to every call people do, in addition to monitoring the citizens actions through security cameras. However, should we welcome this kind of development?

Certainly, there are some benefits, security cameras can be useful for managing crime situations. For example, many houses are easy to break in, therefore, the owners put cameras around the house so they can know how and when a crime happened wether it was stealing a car or a killing crime. On the other hand, tracking phone calls can be an evidence to prove that somebody is guilty or not. But, what about the negatives? In many cases, the percentage of individuals being monitored is increasing dramatically, it can be in public places, hotel rooms, and even in their own house, such action is surely damaging people’s privacy and causing huge disasters in their lives. For those reasons, the disadvantages will be more than the advantages.

In conclusion, technology has positive and negative impacts on our life, but the way we interact with this development will determine if we are going to benefit from it or not.