Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Technologies are evolving every day and these technologies are being used to track people’s activities and movement nowadays. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend and explain why I believe this has many benefits over drawbacks.

To begin with, it is irrefutable that people do not like to be monitored without their consent. Since CCTV cameras, mobile phones and websites are tracking people’s activities, it has impacted the privacy of these people. For example, in most places, security cameras are operating 24 X 7 to record people’s activities and no one knows what the authority is doing with those recorded videos. As these videos can be used to harm or damage the reputation of individuals, this may lead to many privacy and personal matters. Another disadvantage is some websites and mobile application tracks their users’ choices for marketing purposes. For instance, if a user searches for some product in the web, it stores the information and keeps providing suggestions for a similar product which can be annoying.

On the other hand, some people believe myself included, this has many advantages. One advantage is, these trackings can be used to serve people in many ways. For instance, it is intuitively obvious that CCTV recordings have supported authorities to find criminals and reduce crimes. Because of these cameras, individuals are afraid to do any criminal activity as those recorded videos can be used to capture them easily. Since most cities are using security cameras, the crime rate has decreased in those areas compared to the areas that do not have those in place. Another advantage is, the mobile tracking has many benefits as it helps mobile users to find the path from the current location to the destination. For instance, cell tracking technologies such as GPS, play an indispensable role in google maps where it helps to direct users to use the correct path.

In summary, even though it is undeniable that tracking movements and activities have negatively impacted privacy and misuse their choices for marketing purposes, these technologies have provided major benefits to society. After considering the aforementioned facts, I believe this trend has many advantages over disadvantages.