Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern life, technology has become an essential tool for monitoring what people are saying or doing, especially through instruments like security cameras and cellphone controls. Sometimes, individuals are even unaware of what is happening and that they are controlled. In my view, this perspective is supported by compelling arguments, however, I firmly believe that this phenomenon should be restricted to some areas, as its drawbacks outweight its benefits, and especially becuase it has led to a limitation of privacy.

A society more monitored could bring many benefits to society. Indeed, it could lead to a greater safety, from economic processes to daily life, people could erase some problems related to the weak presence of police and law enforcement. For instance, cities that are more monitored through technology devices can experience low crime rates, as technology could help law to find criminals as soon as possible or find out the reasons behind certain crimes.

However, this kind of system lead to negative effects too. I think that this phenomenon may restrict people’s privacy and freedom. Consequently, society and individuals may lose their rights to separate their public and private life, merging both things. For example, an environment extremely controlled can limits people’s choices and decisions, leading individuals to feel like machines or legal products.

In conclusion, nowadays having an efficient way to respect rules is quite useful for many reasons, as governmens can control easily their citizens and the respect of the law. However, I think that institutions should balance well this power, especially because it could become dangerous for people.