Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Individuals are often scrutinized by innovations such as cameras and mobile phones without their awareness. These technologies are used to track activities and movement of the public. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this trend and explain why I believe this has many pros over cons.

To begin with, it is undeniable that people do not like to be monitored without their consent. These days, cell phones, security cameras and most of our gadgets can be used to track our online and real actions which results in the invasion of privacy and personal life. For example, major security cameras around cities are active throughout the day, accordingly, residents are observed all the time. For this reason, people are concerned about the videos that are recorded by the authorities because those recordings can be used to harm the reputation of citizens. Another weak point is that some websites and smartphone companies track the online footprints of the populace and use them for marketing purposes. As a consequence, it stores information and suggests similar things which can be annoying such as the search engine named Google.

On the other hand, there are several benefits of tracking and monitoring processes. One is that the government can secure the safety of the citizens and protect them from any danger. For example, the cameras that are installed all over urban areas can be observed in advance or after a crime incident to safeguard and find more evidence of an offense. Another useful point of this is it creates fear in inhabitants to commit any lawlessness due to the recordings that are all over the cities. In addition, the tracking function in devices also plays a crucial role when people lose their belongings. For instance, when I lose my iPhone or Apple watch, the application or website called Find My can be used to detect the location using GPS from the satellites.

Taking all this into consideration, even though monitoring folks has many drawbacks such as privacy problems and the use of online data for marketing, it still provides numerous benefits. In my view, I strongly trust that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.