Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

Increase in the usage of technology to scan what actions individuals are taking, for instance, tracking a device or spying via security cameras. At most times, these citizens are unaware of the ongoing surveillance. Well, I feel that in spite of a big disadvantage, the advantages are far greater, so we can consider this a positive development.

First of all, the advantages are having a big impact on society. Benefits can limit ongoing criminal activities, help in times of a lost person or object, and maintain moral values. If there is constant monitoring of the public, they will tend to stay under rigid regulations; for instance, in offices, if chatting is not allowed, then staff won’t do it because they are being monitored. This way, it helps them to stay under control. Moreover, if there is constant CCTV surveillance, it will help investigators to detect criminal activities and generate essential evidence. Also, in case of a person being missing, it can help to identify their location. This will be a big help if a person has forgotten the way to a specific location while travelling. Furthermore, criminal actions like the kidnapping of kids can also be prevented.

There are some disadvantages which are minor, but still crucial. The loss of privacy is the greatest factor which must be taken under control. This results in corrupted practices like blackmailing, stealing confidential data, and other malicious conduct, which makes people distrust one another and influences social conflicts. This overall can lead a nation towards bifurcation of government, businesses, and citizens, resulting in catastrophic circumstances.

Indeed, one cannot ignore the disadvantages. But, as far as there are such great advantages, I believe that the advantages completely exceed the disadvantages.