Nowadays the differences between countries are becoming less evident because people follow the same media. Do the advantage of this trend outweigh the disadvantages

At the present, through Internet and global media platforms, accessing content from other countries becomes more easier and common than ever. There is a viewpoint that currently, the differences between nations are less obvious as everyone follows the same media. I think that this trend’s merits outweigh the demerits.

Advocates argue that using media towards globalization will decrease the diversity and distinct cultural identities of countries. Initially, global media often prioritise widespread value or follow common trends, while unique cultural sectors of each country receive little attention. This issue makes the unique cultural features of each country can be forgotten or no longer strongly promoted. Secondly, the younger generation is easily influenced by imported culture, especially through social media. Young people tend to follow the global trend but they have little attention to preserve traditional cultural values of their country.

Critics, including me, firmly believe that the global media provides opportunities to everyone to explore culture, lifestyles, and perspectives from other countries. This helps them broaden their horizons, become more aware of the world and reduce the prejudices or misunderstandings about different cultures. For instance, a number of people using Tiktok,Youtube, and Instagram often introduce their customs, traditional dishes, and arts of their countries. There are many video clips talking about festivals, traditional dances or signature of costumes can quickly go viral and attract attention from a global audience. Furthermore, by following news or participating in online activities, everyone can easily access global issues including climate change, human rights, or gender equality. This helps them have common sense about international issues and promote spiritual cooperation and sympathy between countries.

In conclusion, instead of just worrying about losing identity, they can proactively use modern communication platforms that advertise and preserve traditional cultural values. This not only maintains the uniqueness of each community, but also contributes to enrich mutual understanding in the international community.