Nowadays, there are many celebrities who are famous for glamour and wealth rather than achievement and this sets a bad example for young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some famous people become famous for their glamorous lifestyles rather than their striving in their work. Despite many people’s views that these celebrities set a bad example for children, I tend to think that other well-known people create an exemplary role model for young people.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some believe that many celebrities gained fame without really working for it. Because they may have just become heir to their parent’s money, married a wealthy person, or they may have appeared in gossip magazines or on a reality TV programme. Paris Hilton would be a case in point. She became famous by showing off her excessive wealth and lavish lifestyle. She spends all her time attending parties and nightclubs, and her behavior promotes the idea that appearance and media profile are more crucial than hard work and good character. This message has a very detrimental effect on children.

On the other hand, I would argue that these famous people whose achievements

make them excellent role models for young people. They attained widespread recognition by demonstrating great effort, determination, and ambition in their chosen field. Emma Watson’s speech at the United Nation in 2014, for example, inspired many young girls and women around the world to stand up for what they trust in. Additionally, she also put an emphasis on gender equality, delivering a message that everybody should be treated equally, regardless of genders. Through her speech, this encouraged the public communities’ mental health very much.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the influence of these celebrities on young people can be positive as well as negative.