One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

One of the drawbacks of enhanced medical technology is that individuals are living more and life expectancy is rising. I firmly believe that the benefits overcome the disadvantages.

Human beings having a longer life is one of the main benefits of having advanced medical capabilities. Being able to cure many diseases that we weren’t able to cure and assisting people struggling with difficult cases helps with reducing the amounts of deaths overall. Furthermore, having extraordinary medical equipment helps citizens improve their quality of life being able to exercise without restrictions because of health issues. For instance, a study made from the BCC in 2025 shows that approximately 60 percent of the people that were able to overcome cancer in the UK were able to live a long time due to advanced treatments.

However, we have to mention some of the consequences of having advanced medical care. One of the main drawbacks is the possibility of overpopulation on Earth. Due to medical technology, many countries and cities would be densely populated. This would be disastrous, causing many to be forced to live on the streets due to them not having a place to live. Moreover, many criminals might obtain highly prohibited materials only used in hospitals. Criminals could use these materials to sell them illegally or for personal use causing even more harm, then benefit the community. For example, In the USA, the FBI released a statement in December 2024 stating that over 40 percent of crimes they committed were used with illegal substances like prohibited drugs.

In conclusion, although the drawbacks of advanced medical tools are the probability of overpopulation and increase in sales of items only used in hospitals unlawfully, I believe that the benefits outweigh the disadvantages with the decrease of deaths overall and the rise of life expectancy for the humans.