One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s technologically advanced world, medical facilities and medical care have significantly developed. Consequently, life expectancy has increased around the world. In my opinion, yes, this development has shown more positive transitions than negative ones.

Medical advancements have saved more lives because of technological development in healthcare facilities, medical equipment, medicines, and standard education in the sector. Due to this development, the convenience during surgical operations has improved, and the efficiency and success rate of operations have increased. Greater life expectancy signifies a longer life for a person. Additionally, a higher life averageexpectancy signifies that a person can contribute to the economy for a longer period of time. And also, a physically fit person can support their family financially and psychologically for a longer period of time. In terms of cultural advantage, the exchange of ideas, beliefs, or thoughts between younger and older generations becomes very easy, which helps young people to take better decisions in life.

On the other hand, the larger the population, the higher the consumption of food, goods, and other commodities. Higher demand for goods sometimes leads to a scarcity of resources in a country, which results in inflation in the market and affects the country’s economy. More consumption of products or resources degrades the environmental condition, which deteriorates the quality of life. In a collective society where 3 or 4 generations are living in a joint family, conflicts related to the generation gap, ideology, mindset differences, and many more arise.

Overall, for a country, higher life expectancy supports themit in a better economical, functional, and cultural way, which suggests that advancements in medical care have proven more positive than negative.