Over the last few decades, the media has promoted the image of young thin women as being ideal. What problems has it caused? What solutions can you suggest to this issue?

In the contemporary era, the beauty standards have changed significantly influenced by the media. That’s why many women nowadays desire to possess an extremely thin figure as well as always look young. However, this trend has provoked many problems in our society, which I am going to discuss in this essay alongside with the solutions.

Despite the fact that women were always concerned about their appearance though currently, it has become an obsession, leading to huge wastes of energy, time, and money in order to correspond to the fashion. Since, all beauty procedures are very demanding, for example, Botox injections cost hundreds of dollars. Furthermore, in order to achieve a desired shape from the screen, it is necessary to be permanently on an extremely strict diet, consuming only three apples per day. As a result, under so high an extent of pressure, many women feel depressed and underestimated, facing numerous problems with their health.

Regarding the solutions, firstly, the problems should be treated on the highest level. In other words, huge corporations and businesses need to force body positivity in their advertisements. It contributes to the confidence of millions of people around the world who would see not only skinny models, but healthy, beautiful human bodies. In addition to this, the awareness of the drawbacks of such an unnatural slim body should be increased among the people, since top-models suffer from eating behavior disorders, bone diseases, and sometimes many mental illnesses.

In conclusion, the ideal body is a healthy and trained body, though attempts to be thin and cover wrinkles have only detrimental effects for health. To deal with this issue, the information about the negative consequences should be spread in the media displaying the reality and encouraging people to be themselves.