Parents should encourage teenagers to get a part-time job in their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Topic: Parents should encourage their teenagers to get a part-time job in their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that parents should advocate for their offspring who reach the teenage year obtain part-time employment in their leisure time. From my point of view, I strongly agree with this opinion because working part-time brings many benefits for teenagers.

It is understandable why some people support the opinion that young people should be motivated by their parents to take part in hourly paid work. The key rationale here is that teenagers can gain their personal skill and financial independence. When they have employment while still in school, they can learn various practical skills that are helpful for their future career, such as communication skill, problem-solving, and time management skills. For example, being an assistant in a coffee shop, clothing store, or supermarket, they will interact with customers and managers. This requires them to know how to solve problems in order to satisfy them. Additionally, balancing time between studying and working is also necessary. Furthermore, financial autonomy is another benefit of joining a part-time job because they will earn a salary from their jobs. As they learn how hard it is to make their own money, and respect it. They can not only reduce the financial burden for their family, but they can also become more responsible and forward-thinking.

On the other hand, engaging in part-time jobs could pose several challenges for teenagers. Firstly, they might have a lack of time even if they can maintain the right balance between studying and working. This leads to being overwhelmed and neglecting their studies. As a result, they will have decreased productivity, and make it difficult to keep up with their peers. This imbalance causes them to be stressed and burned out. Secondly, part-time jobs often require night shifts and overtime, which can be dangerous and increase the risk of robbery and accident.

In conclusion, the benefits of having a part-time job overshadow the potential drawbacks. It is recommended that the young people should be encouraged to participate in part-time jobs, but should not be overburdened. They must spend time with others or even get rest to improve their mental health and physical well-being.