PARENTS WITH OBESE CHILDREN SHOULD BE PUNISHED FOR MAKING THEM FAT. AGREE/DISAGREE

It is believed that parents with children, who suffer from obesity should be punished for making them fat. This essay confidently disagrees with the latter statement, because it is mainly caused by genetics and children can have an unhealthy food choice when they are without their parents.

First and foremost, parents’ genetics are one of the primary factors of obesity in children. When children are born, they may develop a genetic tendency from one of their parents to suffer from overweight. As a result, the main cause of obesity is a genetic structure that will be inherited by an offspring. For instance, a recent study found that children with a higher tendency to develop obesity, suffers from it more often in contrast with youths with an unhealthy eating habit.

Furthermore, most of times, parents are not aware when their children consume most of their food. When children are at school they eat snacks and eat the main lunch. Consequently, adults have no control over their dietary intake during this time. A child could consume the vast majority of their calories during these unsupervised periods, without their mother or father’s knowledge or permission, and much of this intake could take the form of junk food. Scientists have proved primary school students consume an average of 75% of their daily recommended calorific allowance during school hours.

To sum up, although it is thought that parents should be ones to receive punishment for making their child overweight, this essay disagrees with this. The main reasons are because there is a high chance to inherit an obesity from genetics and children are the ones, who choose an unhealthy diet.