People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less

Sugary drinks are becoming more and more popular around the world. Although there are some reasons leading to this tendency, I believe that they can be solved by many approaches.

One of the major causes of this trend is the delicious taste of sugar-based drinks. Many children are often interested in sweetness, which can drive them to spend their personal money on buying such products. For example, a wide range of Vietnamese students go to shopping malls to treat themselves to Coca Cola due to its amazing feelings, which are a sense of reward or fulfillment. This, as a consequence, results in more purchases on sugar-based drinks. Another cause is the price of sugar drinks is often affordable. This makes these products more common among young people and students who have not made that much money.

However, these problems can be addressed through many solutions. The foremost solution is spreading the potential health issues that sugary drinks bring about. By organizing meetings aiming at showing the public the increased rates of obesity and high blood sugar, which are caused by consuming sugar-based products, consumers can know the importance of leading a healthy lifestyle and avoiding sugar-based food in general. In addition, raising the taxes on sugary drinks can also help reduce the consumption of these goods, especially that of individuals who do not have enough financial conditions.

In conclusion, while there are many causes leading to the increasing consumption of sugar-based beverages, I firmly believe that they can be completely solved by health campaigns and raised taxes on such products.