People are using a lot of online language translation apps. Are there more advantages than disadvantages to such services?

In this modern world, a lot of people are using online language translation apps, which come in handy for some users with quick access to understanding foreign languages, while such kinds of apps have some drawbacks, such as overreliance and accuracy issues. From my view, language translation apps have more advantages for their users.

Admittedly, a significant drawback of using translation apps frequently is that it can lead to overreliance, which makes their users lazier. When it comes to the academic side, students and teachers might rely too much on it, which prevents them from learn that language themselves. A further drawback is that many apps struggle to properly translate idioms and contexts. Apps can be inaccurate and misleading, which can make you embarrassed in important events. So, translation apps cannot fully replace human translators.

Despite the drawbacks, a chief advantage of using translator apps is that they can provide you with instant access to understanding a foreign language. You can easily understand what a foreigner is saying and respond to it. Especially, it comes in handy for business purposes. Having those apps leaves no necessity to learn new languages, and this is time-efficient for people who have a busy schedule. Another advantage is that these apps enable us to communicate worldwide and do cultural exchange. By overcoming language barriers, users can engage with international friends, which gives access to global information.

In conclusion, while using language translation apps has some significant drawbacks, such as overreliance and not translating correctly, I think its advantage side can cover those drawbacks by giving instant access to understanding and leaving no necessity to learn new languages.