People living in the 21st century have a better quality of life than the previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that the quality of human’s life since the 2000s is better than previous centuries. Personally, I agree with this view because of the undeniable development of technology and invention. Beside this, human’s right is ensured in many countries in the world.

Granted, one might argue that the progress of science and the development of cutting-edge technology are unnecessary, unmeaningful and irrelevant to the true quality of human’s life. According to this theory, people are living in a detrimental environment which is the serious repercussion from the process of various activities in the economy (agricultures, industries, services). This led to climate change, pollution and lots of negative effects. In addition, the gap between rich and poor people is wider, which is a big problem in many developed nations such as the USA, South Korea or the United Kingdom. These are fundamental reasons to determine people living in imperfect conditions in comparison to past decades.

However, this line of reasoning is not sound because the conclusion of life quality cannot rely on some of the disadvantages of society. One rotten apple in a barrel does not mean that all apples are rotten. People living a modern society with rich convenience of transportation infrastructure and educational system and particularly in the abundance of different kinds of environments. People are not rocket science to access perfect services. All activities in the economy such as shopping, traveling are not difficult to implement. Past people did not have similar opportunities, they could not imagine social platforms such as Tiktok, Facebook, X or cutting-edge phones such as Iphone, samsung.

In conclusion, society in change still has some drawbacks however people are living in a modern era and are easy to connect with others.