People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

Sleep deprivation has become more common in recent years. Among many reasons for this development, the main one is the increased amount of work or study in this highly competitive world we live in. The effects of this trend are universally detrimental, both in terms of individuals’ health and how their sleep deficit affects people they interact with.

The contemporary world is increasingly competitive, which is why numerous people are motivated to work and study harder than decades earlier. To enroll in a prestigious university, one would have to excel at school and obtain additional certificates, which requires exceptional commitment. Similarly, an individual who is focused on career advancement may be more willing to work overtime. In both cases, people may need to sacrifice their sleep to accomplish their goals faster. As a result, many end up sleeping only 4-5 hours instead of the recommended 7-8.

With regard to the impact of such a lifestyle on an individual, health is the most obvious concern. The truth is, those who are sleep-deprived usually experience chronic fatigue that may affect them both physically and mentally. This also means people may struggle to focus on their daily tasks, resulting in compromised productivity. In extreme cases, chronic sleep deprivation may lead to burnout, which is a major mental health threat, further showing how dangerous a lack of sleep can be.

One’s lack of sleep may also affect others adversely. To be specific, when an individual, whether an employee or a student, fails to be productive as a result of sleep deprivation, their inability to contribute in group tasks can lead to undesirable outcomes. This is especially true in workplaces where teamwork is the key to the company’s success. In other words, a sleep-deprived worker can be the weakest link and undermine the overall performance of the team.

In conclusion, it is the increasing workload that has made more people sacrifice hours of sleep. However, the impact of this tendency is generally negative, as the examples above illustrate.