question:As transport and accommodation problems are increasing in many cities, some governments are encouraging businesses to move to rural areas. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Due to growing transportation and housing issues in many cities, some governments are encouraging businesses to relocate to the countryside. While I accept this policy’s benefits for the cities such as fewer traffic jams, clean air and less noise pollution, its detrimental effects are far more significant. Which are limited workforce and customers, also transportation problems.

One advantage of establishing a business in a rural area is the reduction of traffic congestion in city centre. By doing this, city centers may be clearer of traffic since fewer people commute to and from work. Which positively affects air quality and noise pollution. A decline in the number of cars will have a huge impact on city air. For example, during the COVID-19 lockdown can be an appropriate example of this circumstance. Hardly any cars ran in this period, so this led an improvement in air quality. Especially, cleaned air in India was widely reported on the news. Decreased noise pollution is another substantial benefit. The majority of noise comes from traffic which was caused by daily commuters.

However, its downsides outweigh these benefits. Businesses may find it difficult to thrive in a rural area due to poor infrastructure and underdeveloped urban system. Which may lack the number of customers as well the workers themselves. Typically, customers seek specific services or products in urban areas. Only if they are aware of one particular business in countryside, they might still remain as a customer. They rarely go to rural areas just to explore. Skilled workers are also attracted to positions that are near to city centers. Making their lives more convenient with the opportunity of better education, healthcare or another daily necessities. Another issue is delays in delivering products or receiving the necessary resources. These logistical problems can be done easily in city centers rather than in rural area. This might affect product quality and business success.

To conclude, i agree with its environmental benefits which are vital for city’s advantage. But for the business itself this change may be at a disadvantage. So that drawbacks are more significant than the upsides.