Reading books keeps a person's mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely believed that reading books stimulate people’s imagination and expand their knowledge base, while watching movies is merely a momentary concentration. I completely agree with this statement because reading a book helps people to visualize at its best, whereas watching TV or film restrains them from thinking beyond the presented pictures or videos. I am going to elaborate this idea further to establish my opinion.

Reading is the best mode of nurturing the power of imagination. When people read a story, they tend to visualize the settings and the characters involved in it. The deeper they dive into the story, the more their imaginations branch out accordingly. For instance, most of the avid reader of Harry Potter novel series got extremely disappointed when they watched its film series afterwards, because the way they drew the pictures in their imagination were much deeper than that of the films. This is how books keep people’s thought power more active which eventually helps them in real life in terms of idea generation.

In addition, reading a book leads us through real knowledge and vicarious experience, whereas a TV or film simply gives a transient entertainment or emotion. Presentation of this contrast remains incomplete without the words of Groucho Marx “I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book.” Furthermore, experiments show that people feel tired after many hours of reading, but they do not experience the same in case of watching television, indicating that brainwave activity during reading is more active than that of the other way around.

To sum up, reading stimulates brain activity and results in imagination which eventually helps in real life in term of generating creative output, whereas watching TV or film can simply pass an ephemeral feeling. Therefore, I firmly believe that reading offers us an incredible brain culture, which is impossible to gain in the other way around.