Social media is becoming increasingly popular among all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Although, digital media platforms have revolutionized communication with each other over the world because of advancement in technology, posting personal data on these websites has become very hazardous. This essay concludes that the demerits of this trend overlays the merits in the following paragraphs.

To initiate, a major disadvantage of using digital communities is that it harms the privacy and security of personal details. In other words, uploading personal content on social networks might cause data breaching of any person, such as their location, family details, and personal interests by manipulating social media accounts. To exemplify, according to a recent survey from information technology department, hacking of media networks like Facebook and Instagram have increased by 50% in recent years. Consequently, information extracted from users by hackers may lead to privacy issues for clients.

Likewise, another drawback is misuse of integrated artificial intelligence with online media sites. To explain, many latest artificial intelligence tools provide advanced features such as replacing faces, voice, and creating fake photos and videos which used by malicious actors for unethical purposes which misleads the society by spreading false content on media platforms and also ruins their reputations. Thus, modified stuffs of users by deep-fakers may be misused for countless illegal activities.

Nevertheless, the paramount advantage of social media sites is that humans can interact with anyone, at any time, anywhere across the world. Precisely, communication has become accessible for everyone because of digitized media, as it removes the distance barrier allowing people to get in touch with their family and dear ones conveniently. For instance, it is stated by the owner of Meta, Mark Zuckerberg that more than 90% of individuals prefer virtual communication via WhatsApp. Hence, media platforms play a significant role in easier interaction among the community.

To recapitulate, in spite of the advantages of online media in communication being crucial, its consequences like data breaches and the misuse of advanced features should not be neglected.