Social media is becoming increasingly popular among all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s globalized world, whether or not the prevalence and growing popularity of social media is secure enought among almost all people has become a subject of debate in recent years. While this can bring certain ethical disadvantages, the main social and and inspiring benefits, in my view, clearly outweigh them.

On the one hand, overusing online platforms could hinder social skills during formative years of teenagers. That is to say, if a person spent an excessive amount of time on these kinds of platforms, it would blur the line between fictional and real world, causing individuals, particularly youngsters becoming desentized towards the things happening around them. For example, research shows that, people who are addicted to screen-based activities exhibit impulsive actions in their daily life. However, there is no guarantee that this is always the case, as the school or government initiatives would have been involved in this issue, it might be alleviated over the time.

The main benefit of the diverse social platforms is that it provide easier access to the people worldwide in a second. As a majority of people tend to live overseas, social platforms such as Whatsapp or Skype offer oppurtinities to make contact with our beloved ones without any worries, making our emotional bonds much stronger. One clear illustration of this is 90% of users of such platforms are international students or individuals living far from their homes. In addition to this communicational advantage, online platforms have a greater inspiring impact on certain people, who are insecure and suffering from low-self esteem. Unfortunately, psyhological diseases, like depression and social anxiety are prevalent among poeople around the world. Furthermore, some groups of people post motivational vlogs or how to overcome this issue podcasts daily, which enables them to get over it in an effective way.

In conclusion, although overusing of social media may cause ethical challenges, its advantages in term of motivational influence and accessibility far outweigh the disadvantages.