Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

In my reckoning, society and individuals need proper rules, laws and leaders who can lead the masses. Total absence of them would generate anarchy, high level of criminal, economical disfunction, and the world where people have to survive. But on the other hand, very strict rules, laws, and non-democratic way of government would put people in very vulnerable and unsafe position, without chances to be who they are.

Without doubt, the world isn’t perfect and there’s the discrimination on different criteria. For instance, absence of rules and laws means insecurity of discriminated groups, such as people of color, individuals with disabilities or representatives of the LGBTQ+ community. In this case, they would suffer from hate, harassment or threats to their lives, and it wouldn’t be possible to get the protection from government and hold offenders accountable to the law.

On the other hand, there’re countries that prefer to set really strict laws regarding those discriminated groups. With regard to transgender people or other representatives of LGBTQ+ community, in some countries these people are meant to be ill and even dangerous to society. In other words, they’re forbidden to exist as they are, express themselves and have the same rights and protection as others. As a result, such rules and laws provoke negative yet biased opinion in society and make people angry towards minorities.

To conclude, although laws and rules help society to be equal and protected, their existence in a strict way could be dangerous to certain individuals. I strongly believe that the law have to be democratic and liberal, taking into account a wide range of individuals and their needs, in order to be useful and trustful.