Some believe that practical skills are important, while others think academic subjects are vital. Discuss both views and present your opinion

It is widely believed that schools should place greater emphasis on teaching academic subjects such as mathematics and science. Conversely, certain individuals argue that practical skills are pivotal in this regard, such as cooking and maintainance of cars. Hence, in my view giving equal importance to both matters is a wise approach, as they will develop children’s creativity along with theoretical knowledge.

In recent decades, academic subjects have been taught in every school. The main purpose of this is to prepare children for the modern world. Therefore, many parents think that young individuals should be equipped with knowledge relating to mathematics and scientific subjects. This is because they help them to use cutting-edge technologies easily. For example, digital devices such as computers and mobile phones are based on complex algorithms. By learning maths, young learners can learn how to utilize such complicated devices. Furthermore, not only can they use them, but students can also create innovations independently. As a result, learning academic subjects is highly advantageous for children, which in turn delivers many benefits for a country.

However, certain people believe that practical skills are more fundamental than other considerations. The primary reason for this is the lack of abilities in completing their basic daily needs, such as maintaining a car, or cooking food, or handling other crucial tasks. To illustrate, if they have a damaged car, they can repair it with less difficulty and without high expenditure. Moreover, cooking skills enable them to prepare a meal according to their preferences. As a consequence, practical skills are the most important components of every child’s life due to their valuable contribution to personal development.

In conclusion, although academic subjects help young adults to adapt to the contemporary world and high-tech innovations, practical skills remain one of the most pivotal aspects of every person’s life. Therefore, I firmly believe that both aspects should be given equal emphasis because of their significant contributions to fostering practical and theoretical knowledge. Nechi ball