Some believe that punishment is the only purpose of prisons, while others believe that prisons exist for various reasons. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the course of human history, prison is the most popular solution to impose the law. While some people believe that it only exists to punish criminal, I believe that prison is more than a human cage.

As far as I am concerned, it is a basic common sense to think that those who committed a crime will be send to jail. This could happen because prison itself has been around since the ancient times, where our ancestors utilize it in the same way as modern human uses it today. There are many reasons why it is proven as the most efficient way to penalize the lawbreaker. First, it creates deterrent effect and shock therapy for ex-inmates, which reduce crime rate and prevent former prisoners to repeat the same atrocity. Secondly, it gives the sense of safety to the community, which leads to increased legitimate power of the authorities. Finally, while prison punish people who violate the law, it is ensure to not degrading their human right as the facility have had the mandate to accommodate the prisoners’ basic human needs. For instance, they serve meals to the inmates, provide space to pray, even allow guest to visit.

However, I believe that prison exists way beyond the initial reason. Prison, as a government facility, provides jobs for many people. From guards to chefs, prisons can project different values depend on who we talk to. Additionally, prisons also provide some skill-based training as a rehabilitation program to the prisoners like sewing, cooking, and drawing. Through these skills, the prisoners would have a value to offer to apply for a job, as people usually commit a crime because of financial reason. Thus, such program will eventually help the released inmates to regain their position in their community.

In conclusion, while human civilization has become more and more dynamic, it is clear that prison is an effective tool to control our society with a fear factor. However, I argue that prison only exists to punish people, as it could create values if we see it from other perspective.