Some believe that punishment is the only purpose of prisons, while others believe that prisons exist for various reasons. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people think that prisons are constructed to punish people, whereas others’ opinion is that there are several purposes of prisons. From my perspective, both views are controversial and suitable.

On the one hand, prisons can be built for crime rates, which is a large issue. Nowadays, crimes rise day by day and people become unavoidable, which makes world in danger. Prisones can be built to frighten prisoners in a way to decrease the percentage of crimes. In addition, according to the regulation of a country, the period of a punishment varies on the seriousness of a crime. To illustrate, while burglary is considered a big problem and received sentence between 5 years and 10 years, battling in public places is between a month and 6 months depending on the country. Having these strict punishments avoid problems no matter how big or small these are, that occur in some countries.

On the other hand, prisons can have several purposes to exist. Such as, making prisoners away from locals to not harm. For instance, local people are not able to walk in streets at night comfortably. Furthermore, prisons exist for rehabilitation to make prisoners fix their harmful behaviours. The reason for rehabilitation can be the security among individuals because of mortality. Apart from that, prisons exist to make people aware of a challenging period during prison to not harm others. Shortly, it illustrates both the strictness of prison and awareness.

In conclusion, prisons exist for every point to make the world advantegous.