Some believe that we should invent a new language for international communication. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a prevailing debate that a new language should be developed which is accepted globally. According to me, there is no such requirement rather, this will be waste of resources.

To begin with, it is to be understood the importance of any language. If one is able to express his views and is able to understand others perspectives then the sole objective of communication is met. If we put resources for the development of new language, It is not easy to get the same recognition across the world. Moreover, a lot of literature, study material, articles are already written in different languages. A huge resource shall be required if we want to get that new language to this level where English stands as of now. English is internationally accepted and spoken language. People’s idea and think process will be greatly hampered. The constraints from the new language will be hurdle for international students as they are taught English right from their childhood.

Although, there are few exceptions to this as well. There are countries like China, Russia, Germany where they teach in their own language. As they have not accepted English as their main teaching language. These countries believe in protecting their mother tongue. and hence their culture. Developing a common language will make it easier for everyone to understand their historical culture.

To sum up, I would like to mention here that the advantages of this does not outweigh the disadvantages. The need of the hour is to save valuable resources for the benefit of society and not just something which is irrelevant.