Some believe that we should invent a new language for international communication. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is suggested by some that inventing a new language for the sake of global communication is essential. However, my gut feeling is that there is no need in doing this.

Language plays a fundamental role in carrying distinctive features of all cultures. It reflects every aspect of the people’s lives. So, to realize cross-culture understanding, learn each other’s language should be seen as the most critical approach. Other than that, learning a new language can be interesting, too. Through comparing the differences in one’s own language and other languages, people not only acquire more in-depth knowledge about these cultures and people, they can also be amazed by how much difference there is. This on one hand, keeps people learning new cultures through new languages, which can result in better mutual understanding, and more importantly, helps maintain cultural diversity, which is probably one of the most important driving forces of human development.

Meanwhile, the root of a language lies deeply in the long history of a culture. Almost all languages have gone through hundreds or even thousands of years of evolution and are still changing as the world itself changes. So, it would be very challenging to just invent a language without any trace of modification and variation. Although, merging different languages to form a new one could be an option, it is still a very demanding mission, because it can be hard to select certain parts out of these languages to form a new one. Not to mention the possible bias in this new linguistic system where the less privileged languages and their users get offended, because they can feel despaired.

To wrap up, there is no need to invent a new language just for the sake of international communication. It would largely do harm to cultural diversity and it can be hard in real operation, too.