Some believe that we should invent a new language for international communication. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that a new dialect ought to be invented to communicate internationally. While there are certain benefits to this trend, this essay will explain why I believe these are outweighed by the negatives, and provide a logical conclusion with relevant examples.

To begin with the advantages, inventing a new language will definitely remove the language barrier and provide plenty of opportunities to communicate with one another globally. In addition to that, this will increase international trade and allow all the countries to help each other out economically. This is because all the individuals will use the same language, so the gap between different cultures and traditions will eventually close. For instance, if everyone uses a common language, they do not have to rely heavily on translation, which would eliminate the confusion in understanding the trading terminologies.

However, these advantages need to be considered in light of the drawbacks, and the most concerning of these are the time and resources required to put this new way of communicating in place. First of all, English is the accent that has been accepted as a universal language globally, and the change of vernacular will bring a lot of confusion. Establishing a new lingo needs a new set of rules that must be accepted by everyone, and a huge amount of money needs to be spent on the training process. Moreover, many will be reluctant to accept this new change, as they are already comfortable with the way they communicate. For example, some are still struggling to master the language of English, even though they have learned it their whole lives. Therefore, it is not practically possible for everyone to become competent in a new dialect.

In conclusion, despite the benefits that introducing a new language to interact globally might present, such as removing the language barrier and improving the chances of trading, these advantages are insignificant in comparison with the need for resources and time to put this new trend in place.