Some believe that we should invent a new language for international communication. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that serious efforts should be made to develop a new language for the global communications in the comity of nations. In my opinion, the benefits of a new language far exceed any potential demerit, like the adverse effects on local culture and language, associated with this development.

On the downside, native languages are the first causality of the efforts to create a new international dialect. It has been an innate tendency of human nature that it has the temptation to learn and adapt to things that are in fashion, and owing to this behavior they will devote much of their time learning them and forgoing the studies their local languages. Consequently, with each passing day, speakers of these languages will become less and less, and eventually they will become extinct. For example, according to UNSCO, the existence of many African languages is threatened by the dominance of English and French in that part of the world.

On the contrary, establishing a new communication tool at the international arena will ensure enhanced cooperation among countries. All countries being partners in global development, unified language will help them to understand other’s point of view, their accommodation, and effective and clear communication for global prosperity. Because of this, tensions between neighboring states will be reduced and new vistas of opportunities will be opened. This is because I believe that adopting a unified global language will more advantageous for the world’s peace and development.

In conclusion, while some people think that a new global language should be invented and I second them because the benefits of this move, in the form of cultivating a greater cooperation among states and fostering ties among them, would outweigh any potential disadvantages.