Some countries have introduced laws to limit the working hours that an employer can ask from an employee. Why are these law introduced? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Countries across the globe are coming with various methods and legislations to govern in more efficient and humane ways in comparison to the previous governance systems. One of the aspects, on which special emphasis is being placed is to regulate working hours for employees to provide them within an enabling balanced lifestyle. I personally think that countries should introduce laws to limit working hours for employees to provide a much needed work life balance to employees, as they are going to lay a positive impact upon the personal and economic development of citizens and countries.

The prime reasons for introducing these laws is perhaps to offset the workaholic environment prevalent nowadays. Moreover, the citizens are totally engrossed and occupied in their work, which are hampering their relationships especially matrimonial relations. Couples don’t have quality to spend together due to prolonged hours, and this is hampering the dynamics of the husband-wife relation. Furthermore, since the advent of dual income earners, children also feel deprived of their parents due to their inability to manage tough work schedules. All these factors are quite evident these days in the form of increased divorced rates, accelerated cases of ADHD among children and depression.

To cope up with these problems, I think, it is necessary for governments across the world to introduce such laws that regulate working hours and bring them to a moderate level. A healthy lifestyle requires us to manage our lives in the most meaningful manner. So, I would conclude by saying that even there are advocates of the idea these laws lay negative impact upon development, I totally agree that reducing working hours lay a positive impact upon the development of societies and citizens.