Some countries have introduced laws to limit the working hours that an employer can ask from an employee. Why are these law introduced? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Several nations are setting a limit to working hours that employers can ask from their workers. The primary reason for this can be to acknowledge and curb increasing work stress and I firmly believe it is an optimistic approach.

To begin with, the major cause of reducing working time is to limit the stress that employees incur while working more than they can handle. To elaborate, employees work almost eight to ten hours a day, mostly six days a week, for their whole lives, which is exhausting. As a result, they are not able to focus on other aspects of life such as family, friends and, more importantly, their health. For instance, the majority of people face serious health issues like stress, depression, anxiety, high or low blood pressure and many more. This was not the case a few decades ago which indicates increased working hours can be the prominent reason. So, to encourage workers to take other aspects of their lives more seriously, limited working hours can be a good step towards a healthier and happier lifestyle.

As far as I am concerned, this is a positive trend for both the employees and employers. In the case of employees, they can maintain a healthier work-life balance, which will improve their overall lifestyle. Moreover, they can spend some cherishable moments with their family and friends and even focus on their health. Moreover, employers will also benefit from this trend as a happier and healthier workforce tends to be more productive. This might improve their performances at the workplace which understandably is beneficial for the organization. Hence, reducing working hours can lead to a better working culture helping both the workers and the employer.

To conclude, many governments are reducing working hours to encourage a better working culture which is undoubtedly a positive development.