Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

Some countries are self-sufficient in food production, while others are not, and they import necessary eating items in bulk from other parts of the world. I feel that it is a negative trend, and in this essay, I will explain.

Importing food items from outside is a negative development because it can elevate food prices. This means that places where grain is not grown, then authority will have to buy such items from other places. Bringing them pass through many custom taxes both inside and outside of the country, due to which residents have to purchase them more than normal prices. For example, in numerous African nations, wheat flour prices are ten times higher than Asian countries due to the fact that they bring from outside. Moreover, it may create food insecurity. If exporters face any natural disaster or calamity, potential to damage their grains, then they have to hinder sending food outside, which can cause food shortage on importers.

On the hand, some people might say that if a country lands is infertile, and face water shortfall, then they have to bring eating materials from other places. It is valid point, but usage of the latest technology such as genetic modified seeds can be grown in such places, that need less water as well as produce more grains. For instance, Uganda has barren lands, but they are producing massive quantity of bananas because they use G.M.E techniques.

To sum up, it is a negative trend to bring food items from other nations, since it may cause inflation, as well as such places may encounter food shortages. My believe is that food sciences should strive to devise ways, that is effective and suitable for places, where food is less grown.