Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

Some nations gain a huge amount of food from different areas of the world. I firmly believe it is a positive phenomenon as it might cover all the needs country were lacking of and also provide benefits for country that exports.

To begin with, there lots of benefits of importing food and covering all needs of country is one of them. There are lots of countries which have huge levels of hunger and cannot gain some food from their areas, so, in order to prevent that, they are resorting to other nations which can help them with providing some food. Additionally, importing process might bring more jobs as this process requires lots of logistics, retailers, drivers and even pilots to transport food to other areas of the world.

However, imported products are far more expensive than local ones as a lot of efforts was invested in order to deliver these products. Also, these products might be less healthier and lose their tastes because they have passed a long journey. Moreover, it lowers motivation of local farmers as they understand they will not get competitive price, consequently, it increases the prices of fruits and vegetables for local people.

To sum up, importing might be a wrong movement, but there are several benefits which outperform these drawbacks.