Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

In today’s developing world, some countries import a significant quantity of food from other countries in the world. This trend has a positive as well as a negative development.

On the one hand, the trend of importing has a good impact on a country. First and foremost, a variety of foreign food is available for the consumer in their own country without moving to a particular city. For example, exotic fruits such as dragon fruit or kiwi are not grown in Kazakhstan but these fruits are available in the country. Additionally, countries cannot produce all kinds of food, that is why they import food from other countries. As a result, it develops good relationships between countries.

On the other hand, one evident reason why it is a negative development is that foreign products are popular among people but it negatively affects the climate and their health. Firstly, It takes up too much time to import food from one country to another. That’s why they use chemicals to preserve the food in order to make it look fresh after transporting. Also, it is transported by vehicles such as tracks or ferries which produce carbon emission which affect the climate. Consequently , it has a negative impact on health such as cancer and liver problems. Furthermore, it is also harmful to the local market. People prefer to buy imported goods rather than local food due to the fact that they look better than local food.

To sum up, it is a good as well as bad trend. On the one hand, it is good for people to have a variety of food. However, it has a negative effect on the climate and for people’s health.