Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

Food transportation has been the widespread activity that virtually all countries around the world implemented at least once. It said that most countries acquire a significant amount of food from other regions. Albeit this phenomena has some clear beneficial effects on the economy and people, I believe that drawbacks take the precedence over merits.

On the one hand, to some extent importation of food leads to favourable consequences. One of them is providing a particular country’s citizens with vibrant food choices. As some certain region’s climate conditions may impede plants that necessitate sun exposure to grow. For instance, the country lacking pleasant weather conditions for growing watermelons is Russia which imports it from Uzbekistan. By gaining diversified food options, Russia meets the needs of it is local residents. In addition, importing provides a sustainable availability of food. A number of regions around the globe are deficient in fertile lands that enable them to grow food by themselves, so if we put in perspective, instead of reforming possessed resources, they would take advantage of the process of acquiring food from foreign countries, which would be cost-effective way compared to the method of altering geographical location which puts more pressure to the economy . This, in turn, heads them having an access to food products all year round.

On the other hand, although it has a couple of desirable implications, I believe that, importing is a change for the worst. One of the destructive factor that people confront while import is risky overdependence on other countries. This is because if there is a crop failure, not only suppliers, but also the receivers would endure challenges that may arise as a result. This, as a consequence, pose several economic crisis for related countries such as food shortages, galloping inflations and principal aspects of importation. Adding to this problem is outbreak of infectious diseases. The transportation of food goods is one of the prevailing and straightforward method of virus distribution to other regions of the earth. For instance, if in the importer country communicable ailments emerged and this country unintentionally may scatter the bacteria by sending a multitude of products to other countries that could trigger a wave of segregation in society as in the period of Covid 19.

In conclusion, irrespective of having a few positive merits in terms of supplying local communities with diverse food options and enabling accessibility to foods throughout the year, I reckon that, it has catastrophic effects like heavy reliance on other countries and dispersing of contagious illnesses that can not be overlooked.